WMO comprises the World Meteorological Congress, the Executive Council, regional associations, technical commissions and the Secretariat. Additional bodies are established by Congress.

The World Meteorological Congress is WMO highest decision-making body. The Executive Council implements decisions adopted by the Congress.

Six regional associations are responsible for the coordination of meteorological, hydrological and related activities within their respective Regions, while technical commissions consisting of technical experts study technical matters and make recommendations to Congress and the Executive Council.

The Officers of WMO are a President and three Vice-Presidents, who are also chair and vice-chairs of Congress and the Executive Council. The Secretary-General oversees the functioning of the Secretariat, headquartered in Geneva.