The Bureau is an informal consultative mechanism to advise the President and facilitate the discharge of his mandate.

The Bureau consists of the President, the three Vice-Presidents and the Secretary-General. Its primary role is planning, organization and coordination of the work of Congress and the Executive Council. It also reviews the implementation of the directives of Congress and the Executive Council, and facilitates consultation on a broader range of topics, including crosscutting and emerging issues, especially those requiring prompt attention.

Meetings of the Bureau are normally held twice a year, with a short meeting organized in conjunction with every regular session of Congress or Executive Council. The President, in consultation with the Secretary-General, may invite other participants with respect to consultations that may be required. The President informs Members of the agenda before Bureau meetings to enable feedback, as well as on the deliberation and outcomes following the meetings.