Technical Commissions

Technical commissions consisting of technical experts are established at each ordinary session of Congress. Their function is to review advances in science and technology and make recommendations on international standards for methods, procedures, techniques and practices in meteorology and operational hydrology to be included in the Technical Regulations, Guides and Manuals. 

WMO Members have the right to be represented on the technical commissions.  

Currently, WMO has two technical commissions:

  • Commission for Observation, Infrastructure and Information Systems (Infrastructure Commission or INFCOM), covering globally coordinated Earth system observations, data and prediction systems
  • Commission for Weather, Climate, Hydrological, Marine and Related Environmental Services and Applications (Services Commission or SERCOM), covering globally harmonized services and applications of meteorology, hydrology and related fields to human activities