Executive Council

The Executive Council is the executive body of WMO and implements decisions of the Congress. It coordinates programmes, manages the budget, considers, and acts on resolutions and recommendations from the regional associations and technical commissions, and studies and makes recommendations on matters affecting international meteorology and related activities. 

The Executive Council sessions are normally held in Geneva once a year. Decisions are passed by a two-thirds majority vote.

The Executive Council is made up of a President, three Vice-Presidents, six Regional Association Presidents and 27 Directors of National Meteorological or Hydrometeorological Services, elected by the Congress. Each member has only one vote. For further information on the Members of Executive Council, Working Groups and their members, and Executive Council activities, please consult in the WMO Community Platform.