Professor Mariolopoulos Award

The WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award was created in 1996 by the Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation for the Environmental Sciences, which is in Athens, Greece. The Award is granted every year in recognition of young scientists for exceptional contributions to meteorology and climatology. 

Professor Mariolopoulos Award

A group of men standing together.
Professor Mariolopoulos 2022 Award Winners, on July 4th. From left to right, the award-winner Dr. George Varlas, the President of MKF academician C. Zerefos and the representative of WMO Prof. Juerg Luterbacher. The second winner, Kaspar R. Daellenbach, was unable to attend the ceremony.

A WMO trust fund was created in 1996 for the WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award, which is fully financed by the Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation.

The WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award consists of:

  • A US$ 2 000 award.
  • A certificate

The Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation provides an additional US$ 3 000 to the awardee.

Guidelines for WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award

The WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award recognizes an outstanding research paper in atmospheric sciences that have been published or accepted in a refereed journal by a young scientist (age below 35 years by the date of publication).

The judges are scientists from the WMO, the European Commission and the Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation Board of Trustees. The Secretary-General of WMO is part of the selection committee.

Nominations can be made by:

  1. the National Committees of the International Association of Meteorological and Atmospheric Sciences (IAMAS)
  2. IAMAS Commissions
  3. by the Directors of the National Meteorological Services
  4. self-nominations are also accepted.

The nomination should include:

  1. three reprints of the paper
  2. brief curriculum vitae of the nominee
  3. a reference letter by a senior scientist or a Member of the National Meteorological Service

The nominations and the papers must be submitted in one of the official WMO languages (English, French, Spanish, Russian). Non-English papers should be accompanied by a translation in English. The nominations should be sent to:

Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation for the Environmental Sciences

"WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award"

Coumbari 6, 10674, Athens, Greece

Or to

For more information: WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award

List of winners

To see a full list of previous winners, visit the Mariolopoulos Foundation website.